This Really Happened

It’s been so long since I’ve been regularly updating. I’ve been spending more time listening to records than writing about them. That and some other stuff. I’m seriously thinking of expanding the scope of 24HPP beyond just music and including more of the culture in it. It’s going to become whatever, you know, I’m interested in. Which is really what it should have been all along. Music is still the glue but the culture is the fabric.

So why today? Why now? Well….because I just got the most perfect MP3 recorded ever. No, seriously. This rises above every tongue-in-cheek, knowing-in-joke, hell-ain’t I-funny comedic songs out there. It was recorded live at The Melting Point here in Athens back in April and is by a North Carolina band band named Pipapelli. The photo is real. The recording is real. This band is real. Yes, that’s “Smoke On The Water”. Yes, that’s a bagpipe.

And this was not meant to be funny.

Oh, sweet heaven this made my week.

This is my gift to you, the world.

MP3: Piapelli-Smoke On The Water

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This Really Happened

  1. TRex says:

    Gosh, I can’t believe Robb hasn’t tagged them for “It’s Friday” yet.

  2. Davey Staton says:

    There are so many things to say, I don’t know where to even start.

  3. Candice Jones says:

    I have two words. BAGPIPE SOLO.

  4. Leigh says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Gordon!

  5. Tamara Norris says:

    Ummmm, wow.

  6. Helen Gynell says:

    Maybe it wasn’t MEANT to be funny, but . . .

  7. Jason Slatton says:

    You’ve just attained “folk hero” status for this one.

  8. RJ says:

    I couldn’t bring up the mp3, but the band was actually “Swords and Whiskey” and I sat in with them on several songs with my pipes ( basically unrehearsed ) My band, Pipapelli, was supposed to play, but half the band had serious medical issues so S&W helped us out. Our band is serious, serious about having fun! Rockin’ Blues with lead Bagpipes run thru a wah peddle!
    Check out our myspace site at
    http://www.myspace.com/pipapelli
    Cheers!

Got something to say? Say it here. Log in or click "Guest" to stay anonymous.